Classic events Car museums Classic car brands

Little Classics News: 28 September 2014

Voting Open for 2014 Historic Car of the Year

Mercedes 18/100

Voting is now open for the 2014 International Historic Motoring Awards’ Car of the Year.

From suggestions received from historic motoring enthusiasts around the world, eight superb cars have been chosen for the shortlist. All are equally deserving of the title of Car of the Year, which was last year won by the remarkable Bugatti 57SC Aerolithe recreation. In 2012 the coveted title went to the Birkin Bentley while in 2011, the Awards' first year, the winner was the Porsche Type 64 Rekordwagen.

The choice of which candidate will take the 2014 Car of the Year title is down to the general public, with votes being cast through the International Historic Motoring Awards' (IHMA) website Voting closes on 1st November.

This year's candidates:

Mercedes 18/100 (top) - the winner of the 1914 French Grand Prix (car number 28) has been wowing the crowds on its centenary tour.

The first Ferrari 250 GTO to come to auction since 1990 sold for a world record $38 million at Bonhams.

The 1954 Ferrari 375MM Scaglietti that this year became the first post-War car since 1968 to win Best of Show at Pebble Beach Concours.

Jaguar E-Type Lightweight

Jaguar's E- type Lightweight Continuation cars (above) - all six of them!

Lotus Type 56 Chassis 3 - this ground-breaking 1968 gas-turbine Indy 500 car has emerged from restoration and been demonstrated at the first Indy Historic, The

Following a rebuild by Heritage Motor Centre volunteers, the Rover-BRM, Rover's entry for the 1963 and '65 Le Mans 24 Hours, ran successfully at this year's Le Mans Classic.

Shelby Cobra Daytona Coupe CSX2287

Shelby Cobra Daytona Coupe CSX2287 (above) - this prototype broke 23 records at Bonneville in 1965 and in 2014 became the first car to be accepted into The National Historic Registry of the United States.

Maclom Campbell's record-breaking 150mp Sunbeam 350HP (below), unused since 1962, came gloriously back to life this year at the National Motor Museum.

Sunbeam 350hp

Still time (just!) to nominate in the Awards

Nominations are still open in the other IHMA categories. Classic motoring enthusiasts have until 1st October to suggest candidates for:

  • Museum or Collection of the Year
  • Restoration of the Year (sponsored by Redd Europe)
  • Specialist of the Year
  • Publication of the Year (sponsored by Hortons Books)
  • Club of the Year (sponsored by Footman James)
  • Rally of the Year
  • Race Series of the Year (sponsored by Lister Cars)
  • Motorsport Event of the Year (sponsored by Jaguar Cars)
  • Motoring Event of the Year (sponsored by EFG)
  • Personal Achievement of the Year (sponsored by HERO Events)
  • Tour of the Year
  • Industry Supporter of the Year

The International Historic Motoring Awards are presented in association with EFG private bank and Octane magazine.

The winners of the International Historic Motoring Awards 2014 will be announced at a gala dinner in London on Thursday 20th November at the magnificent St Pancras Renaissance Hotel.


Classic Motorcycles Classic Cars